Karnatak University is the second oldest university in Karnataka state and one of the reputed institutions for higher education in the country. It started functioning from April 1949 with Mr. R.A.Jahagirdar as the first  Vice-Chancellor. It was Late Dr. D.C.Pavate who visualized the role of this university and strove to make this, one of the best in the country giving it national and international recognition. The university is re-accredited with ‘A’ Grade in the year 2008 by NAAC.
The Karnatak State University Act – 2001 governs the University. The Jurisdiction of the university is extended over Dharwad, Gadag, Haveri and Uttar Kannada districts. The university campus named as “Pavate Nagar” has 48 post graduate departments, more than 280 affiliated colleges, a P.G. department of Marine Biology at Karwar, P.G.centers at Haveri and Gadag, NIC network (RENIC), center for excellence in polymer Science and many more.
The idea of starting a college in North Karnataka was floated as early as 1876.The real beginning of the endeavors however was not made till the year 1909.The Karnatak College Association was formed with Late Shri.R.B.Rodda as Chairman. Later due to efforts of Late Shri.Diwan Bahadur Srinivas Rao Rodda, Late Shri.Rao Bahadur Rudragouda Artal and Late Shri.M.B.Choubal, the foundation stone of Karnatak College was laid on 20th June 1917 by the then Governer of Bombay (earstwhile Bombay Province). Karnatak College was established with an intention of providing something more than a machine for grinding our graduates and a place where the young men and women will learn to be athletes, self reliant and loyal citizens of country. Late Sir. Siddappa Kambli played a vital role in establishing the science wing in Karnatak College in 1924. After the establishment of Karnatak University at Dharwad, in 1958, it took over the Karnatak College to run it as a Model College. Later, the Karnatak College was bifurcated into two sister colleges as “Karnatak Science College” & “Karnatak Arts College”   sharing   a common campus and other campus amenities for administrative purpose. Late Dr.G.S.Paramasivaiah, a student of the Nobel-laureate Sir.C.V.Raman, was the first Principal of the Karnatak Science College.  

Web Admin

Shri. Rajashekhar V Baraker Assistant Professor Dept of BCA & BSc(cs) Karnatak Science College Dharwad.

© 2020 Karnatak Science College All rights reserved